Brawn & Brains

12 September 2015

W had raved about the coffee and brunch fares at the revamped Brawn & Brains (B&B) for the longest time. The last time I was at B&B, they were still at the tiny corner which could only seat around 15 people. Now that they have relocated to a much bigger unit facing the Guillemard Road, I no longer have to worry about not being able to find seats there. Plus, B&B has also introduced an expanded menu that includes toasts and wraps!

Brawns and Brains Cafe

Last Saturday, S and I needed to run an errand nearby and when we were done at around 11am, I suggested going to B&B for brunch. Thankfully, it was not very packed; although the three long communal tables were occupied, there were the smaller and lower tables at the side. The café was also very spacious and minimalistic, with a burst of neon in the forms of stools and La Marzocco coffee machines.

We placed our order at the cashier counter for Open Face Toast with Slow Cooked Egg with Grilled Bacon (S$14.90), Cappuccino (S$4.50), English Breakfast Tea (S$3.80) and Dark Chocolate Croissant (S$3.80). The lady who took our order also notified us of the waiting time as the food was made to order. I personally appreciate such notice as my expectation will then be managed; I will not be left wondering how long my food will take to arrive.

Brawns and Brains

I was starving when the Croissant came so I devoured it almost immediately, only remembering to let S have the last few bites when I was a little more satiated. The Croissant itself was a little limp, but taste wise, it was good and buttery, and honestly, there’s nothing that dark chocolate ganache could not save J The lady at the cashier actually recommended the Earl Grey Croissant as it was their best-seller, but I very much preferred Chocolate pastries to Earl Grey ones.

B&B serves double ristretto coffees so it may be too strong for some, but it was great for me; it really prepared me for a day full of activities. Another plus point is the price; usually a cup of Cappuccino will cost me S$5, so having such good coffee at S$4.50 was definitely a steal! S could also top up hot water for his cup of tea, which was from the English Tea Shop.

Brawns and Brains Food

The toast came in very hearty portion; there was so much grilled bacon that I could barely see the toast, half of the plate was also filled with salad. The salad itself consisted of many different types of vegetables: rockets, radishes, peas and pea shoots, and there were many flavours just in the salad: peppery and minty. I felt very healthy right after I had the salad! The bacon slices were grilled till just before they turned unappetisingly crispy. Loved them! The toast was quite underwhelming though; it was not able to handle the tomato salsa (I think) and cheese well. I personally thought that a slice of sourdough would be a better choice of bread there. And for your information, the eggs were kind of in between poached and soft-boiled.

Brawns and Brains Menu

I can definitely foresee myself returning to B&B week after week; the coffee was good, the pastries were great, the service was friendly and the ambience was lovely, too! My only gripe was that the air-conditioning could get too cold for comfort. But I will definitely be back to try the wraps!

Brawn & Brains
100 Guillemard Road
#01-07
Singapore 399718
Closed on Mondays
Tue – Fri: 9am – 7.30pm
Sat – Sun: 9.30am – 7.30pm

http://www.brawnandbrains.sg/

https://www.facebook.com/brawnbrains.sg

One thought on “Brawn & Brains

  1. Pingback: 10 Coffee Stops In Singapore For A Good Quality Caffeine Fix Under S$4.50

Leave a comment