The Bakehouse by Carpenter & Cook

6 August 2015

E told me that Carpenter & Cook (C&C) has opened another outlet at Alexandra Central, right next to IKEA Alexandra. I went down last Sunday to take a look with S, but he was not in the mood for tarts so we gave it a miss. However, when G mentioned that we should go to IKEA to get a bookshelf for the office, I immediately suggested that we lunch at The Bakehouse!

It was a tiny space, way smaller than the first outlet at Lorong Kilat. However, the outlet at Alexandra Central does serve savoury food such as pasta, pizza and sandwich. There is also executive lunch set (S$14) that consists of pasta or pizza, and a side of homemade soup. I believe the menu changes daily. Of course, the signature C&C tarts are available too!

The Bakehouse by Carpenter and Cook

Today’s offerings included pasta or pizza with a topping of either grilled chicken or mixed grilled vegetables. And you can choose for either creamy or tomato sauce as the base of the pasta; homemade mushroom soup was the soup of the day. J and S decided to get the pasta with grilled chicken, and they both chose the different sauce base (so I got to try both sauces J). G, opted for grilled chicken sandwich (S$12) which according to the staff, was one of the best-selling items. I can never resist pink sauce whenever I see it, so I ordered the Fettuccine with crabmeat in pink sauce and brandy (S$16). G and I also had Cappuccino (S$5). 

Mushroom Soup The Bakehouse by Carpenter and Cook

The mushroom soup came slightly lukewarm; probably I took too long to photograph it. The soup also came with a side of toasted bread. I took a mouthful of the soup, and it was very good and filled with small mushroom chunks; it definitely did not come from a can. Both their pastas (spaghetti, by the way) arrived next and they smelled wonderful! I tasted both sauces, and I preferred the creamy sauce; it was very enjoyable and not “jelat” at all (albeit a little too watery). The tomato sauce had a spicy kick to it; J said that there might be tabasco inside. The pastas were al dente as well. This really set quite a high expectation for my own pasta.

The Bakehouse by Carpenter and Cook - Food

G’s sandwich came next; it was a huge ciabatta with grilled chicken, prosciutto shards, grilled pineapple slices, parmesan and homemade Caesar dressing. He said that the sandwich was not bad, and that the pineapple slice was very juicy. He even cut out a bite for me to try so that I can write about it (I have nice colleagues!). It was a huge bite, and yes, the pineapple was sweet and juicy. However, the grilled chicken was a bit too bland in my opinion. G also commented that the ciabatta was a little too oily; overall, I think it was an okay sandwich.

Pasta The Bakehouse by Carpenter and Cook

My pasta took the longest to come, but when I had a bite, I was not disappointed. It has been some time since I last had pink sauce, and although the rendition here is more towards the tomato-side, I still found it enjoyable, especially with the generous crabmeat (real crabmeat, mind you!). The Fettuccine was also cooked perfectly. I could not really taste or smell the brandy, but my colleagues could, and they said that my pasta was very delicious!

Tarts at The Bakehouse by Carpenter and Cook

Of course, we had to order their signature tarts: Lemon Cream Tart (S$6.50) and Passionfruit Meringue Tart  (S$6.50), since we were there. This was especially so because they had never been to C&C. And they only had praises for the tarts; the lemon cream tart was tangy enough without being too sour or acidic, and the passionfruit meringue was not too sweet. I am sure they are fans of C&C by now. If you are wondering about the coffee, it was just alright. 

If you find Lorong Kilat too inaccessible, do drop by Alexandra Central for the same delicious tarts (albeit limited in number). Although the space may be a little small, I am sure you will still enjoy yourselves with the delicious offerings and the same vintage, rustic ambience.

P.S. they are open over the National Day 2015 weekend. You know where to go! 🙂

The Bakehouse by Carpenter & Cook
321 Alexandra Road
#01-14 Alexandra Central
Singapore 159971

Sun – Thurs & PH: 8am – 10pm

Fri, Sat & Eve of PH: 8am – 11pm

http://www.carpenterandcook.com/

https://www.facebook.com/carpenterandcook

Leave a comment