Eng’s Noodles House @ Tanjong Katong

8 October 2015

Call me crazy, but I am actually hooked on the super spicy chilli sauce that is available at Eng’s. In fact, I am salivating now as I recall the taste! Whenever I am around the area, Eng’s will definitely be the first place I think of for a meal, even though there are tonnes of other food options at Tanjong Katong.


Although there were only a few pathetic, thin slices of artificially coloured and dry, mind you, char siew in this bowl of wanton noodles (S$4.50/S$5.50), the stars were definitely the noodle and the wantons. I loved how springy the egg noodles are; plus I think they also use lard oil in the sauce, which makes the noodle even more addictive to me! The chilli sauce definitely added the oomph factor to this bowl of noodles. I quite liked the boiled wantons too; I found them to be quite flavourful and they glided down my throat very easily.


Another must-order for me was the fried wantons (S$3/S$4/S$5); I loved to dip each morsel in mayonnaise and the chilli sauce before popping them into my mouth. The fried wantons always arrived piping hot and very crispy; definitely a winner for me. We also ordered the boiled vegetable (S$3/S$4/S$5), which was nai bai on that day. It was alright, albeit a little oily. I liked eating the parts with fried shallots, another kryptonite of mine.

Engs Wanton Noodle

Since they can get quite packed during meal times, you may need to share table with strangers, which was not an issue for me since I was there just to eat and leave right after. There are also hooks under the table that ladies can use to hang their purses or handbags.

P.S. They provide fried lard pieces (and cut green chilli) on the side, so feel free to add as many as you want to your noodles! 🙂

Eng’s Noodles House
287 Tanjong Katong Road
Singapore 437070

Closed on alternate Monday
Tue – Sun: 11am – 9pm

https://www.facebook.com/EngsNoodlesHouse

Leave a comment